Set to release on 30 August 2019, Man of Medan is part of a multiple horror game series called The Dark Pictures Anthology. The anthology is created by Supermassive Games, the same developers of Until Dawn. It’s available for PS4, Xbox One and PC digital.

The concept is similar; a cinematic horror game with players having to make choices that will decide if characters live or die. Voice acting and motion capture are also used in this game. So you’ll recognise Shawn Ashmore (Bobby Drake/Iceman from the X-Men movies) and Pip Torrens (Tommy Lascelles from Netflix’s The Crown).


The story

A group of American friends are on a ship to the South Pacific Ocean for a holiday diving trip to look for a rumoured World War II wreck when a storm hits. They soon find themselves trapped in a sunken, cursed ghost ship.

The story is based on the alleged ghost ship, the SS Ourang Medan, that supposedly sank somewhere in the southeast of the Marshall Islands in 1948. The captain and most of the crew were found dead. The word “Ourang” is the Malay and Indonesian word for “man” or “person” while “Medan” is the name of an Indonesian city. Together, they translate to “Man from Medan”.

via PlayStation YouTube channel
via PlayStation YouTube channel


Like Until Dawn, Man of Medan is set in a third-person perspective. You will have to make different decisions and choose dialogue options when interacting with other characters. How the game develops and ends is based entirely on your choices. Quick time events (aka QTE) will also appear for action sequences. As you explore the ghost ship, you’ll find various dark pictures that show you what may happen in the future.

What’s new in this series is the added multiplayer mode. Players can play alone or with friends.

Solo Story (single player mode)

You can choose to play the complete story by yourself.

Movie Night Movie (couch co-op mode)

You can team up with up to 4 friends to play the story together. Each person will play a different character by passing the controller around.

Shared Story (online co-op mode)

You can hit up a friend online to play the whole story together. Choices made will affect both of you in the game. You can choose to turn on live chat during the game if you want.


More on The Dark Pictures Anthology

The Dark Pictures Anthology consists of 8 games in total. Each game promises a new story set in a new horror genre.

Supermassive CEO Pete Samuels told IGN, “We have an arc in mind that plays out over eight games. He’s really the only consistency across the Anthology. Everything else from a story, character perspective, we want to be a surprise.”


He also assured fans that each game will come out as an individual product, instead of adopting the episodic release format. Awesome!

“Our aim is to get to a frequency of two a year. From concept through to completion they’re a couple of years in development, so if you do the math we’ve obviously got a handful that we’re working on in the studio at the moment,” he added.

This means that different development teams may be working on different games so that they can work concurrently to keep that promise of 2 games a year.